Prevention and Advocacy

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom

ConeXiones aims to serve as a point of connection to resources, educate on COVID-19 prevention and care, as we navigate through the changes and updates. Through education and information we will increase participation in civic and community engagement and increase representation of our community at the local and state levels. This program will continuously assess and evaluate the needs of the community as new data and or needs are identified.

Information about COVID-19

  • Available Services (by phone or video call)

  • Connection to coronavirus-related services (i.e. testing, contact tracing, etc.)

  • Connection to resources available

  • Community Empowerment workshops

Contact: Alicia Dominguez, Community Engagement Coordinator, 302-442-7736, 302-655-7338 X 7736 or ADominguez@thelatincenter.org or Francisca Moreno / fmoreno@thelatincenter.org

Prevention Promoters is a substance abuse prevention "train the trainer" peer education program for adults ages 18 and up. Contact: Mayur B. Chandriani. Prevention Specialist, mchandriani@thelatincenter.org

 

HIV/AIDS Prevention Services Program HIV/AIDS Early Intervention Services offers CONFIDENTIAL HIV testing, counseling and linkage to care to individuals of all backgrounds who are 13 years of age and up.  The test is FREE and results are given in as little as 10-15 minutes. We also provide other resources for risk reduction, such as PrEP and STD/STI referrals. For more information, please contact: Luis Contreras / lcontreras@thelatincenter.org or Daniel Lahera / dlahera@thelatincenter.org, HIV Specialists at (302) 442-7740 or (302) 295-2165. Click here for more information

Healthy Homes offers education and assessments for home health hazards for homes with pregnant women, children, and seniors. Contact: Ana Figueras, Healthy Programs Coordinator, 302-655-7338 Ext. 7695, or AFigueras@thelatincenter.org.

 

 

The Healthy Families Program connects Hispanic families in New Castle County to healthcare by doing a detailed assessment of the health needs of every member of a family and identifying barriers to obtaining medical care.  Appropriate referrals and follow up navigation is provided as needed. Contact: Ana Figueras, Healthy Programs Coordinator, 302-655-7338 Ext. 7695, or AFigueras@thelatincenter.org